2017 Kentucky Derby post positions drawn, odds set

Post positions for the 2017 Kentucky Derby were picked earlier today and the lines are set for the 143rd Run for the Roses.

The 2017 Kentucky Derby will be run on Saturday, May 6, at Churchill Downs. The Derby post time is 6:34 PM, but NBC will begin broadcast coverage at 230 PM.

Below are the odds for the 20 horses entered, listed by post position. 


PP Horse Odds   Jockey/Trainer
1. Lookin at Lee 20-1 Corey Lanerie/Steve Asmussen
2. Thunder Snow 20-1 Christophe Soumillon/Saeed bin Suroor
3. Fast and Accurate 50-1 Channing Hill/Michael Maker
4. Untrapped 30-1 Ricardo Santana Jr./Steve Asmussen
5. Always Dreaming   5-1 John Velazquez/Todd Pletcher
6. State of Honor 30-1 Jose Lezcano/Mark Casse
7. Girvin 15-1 Mike E. Smith/Joe Sharp
8. Hence 15-1 TBA/Steve Asmussen
9. Irap 20-1 Mario Gutierrez/Doug O'Neill
10. Gunnevera 15-1 Javier Castellano/Antonio Sano
11. Battle of Midway 30-1 Flavien Prat/Jerry Hollendorfer
12. Sonneteer 50-1 Kent Desormeaux/Keith Desormeaux
13. J Boys Echo 20-1 Luis Saez/Dale Romans
14. Classic Empire   4-1 Julien Leparoux/Mark Casse
15. McCraken   5-1 Brian Hernandez Jr./Ian Wilkes
16. Tapwrit 20-1 Jose Ortiz/Todd Pletcher
17. Irish War Cry   6-1 Rajiv Maragh/Graham Motion
18. Gormley 15-1 Victor Espinoza/John Shirreffs
19. Practical Joke 20-1 Joel Rosario/Chad Brown
20. Patch 30-1 Tyler Gaffalione/Todd Pletcher

Good Luck with your wagers. For more on the Derby from OSGA, including preview and picks, click here.

Sign-up for the OSGA Newsletter!

Every week get news and updates, exclusive offers and betting tips delivered right to you email inbox.